bookofdoom

The Book of Doom

The second hilarious book in Barry’s AFTERWORLDS sequence – comic fantasy perfect for fans of Pratchett and Douglas Adams. There’s panic up in Heaven. They have mislaid the BOOK OF DOOM – the most important object in existence. Oopsy. They think Satan might have stolen it, the sneaky...

BarryHutchison.com

Author Archives: Barry

Box of Awesome

boxofawesome

I’ve been meaning to blog about Box of Awesome for a while now, but a combination of looming deadlines and sheer laziness have prevented me. However, yesterday’s announcement about publisher Simon & Schuster teaming up with the bods at BOA has coincided with me finishing a new book, and created a perfect storm of blogging conditions resulting in everything that follows. I first heard about Box of Awesome quite a while back through my son. He’s always finding random stuff …

Posted in Books, On the web | 1 Comment

First Draft Jitters

first draft writing advice

Well I’ve done it. This week I finished the first draft of the second book in my brand new and still top secret series. What I can tell you is that it’s completely different to anything I’ve done before. This is 1) a happy thing, because I love exploring new genres; and 2) utterly terrifying. Writing A New Thing is terrifying for a lot of authors because it means venturing into previously uncharted territory, and possibly out of your comfort …

Posted in Books, Writing Tips | Tagged , , | 2 Comments

Another Bookseller’s Thoughts

Edinburgh-Bookshop

Ace Edinburgh Bookshop bookseller and friend of mine, Cat Anderson (who is responsible for getting a copy of The 13th Horseman into Neil Gaiman’s hands) has sent me her thoughts on some of the posts I made on here recently, specifically those about it being difficult to find my books in England. She has kindly agreed to let me stick those very thoughts up here. Whether you’re an author, bookseller, publisher, reader, Scottish or otherwise, everything below is well worth …

Posted in Books | Leave a comment

A Bookseller’s Thoughts

Shopping-at-Waterstones-002

Following my recent posts (here and here) about the grim inevitability of having to direct people to Amazon until such times as more bookshops outside Scotland stock my books, I had a long late night chat with Waterstone’s bookseller, David McCormack. David kindly offered to share his thoughts from a bookseller’s point of view, so authors – you might want to pay attention to the below… Between authors believing bookshops will not take or have their book on the shelves, and …

Posted in Books, Guest Post, Publishing Industry | 6 Comments

The Truth About Amazon – Part 2

Front

My post about my inner turmoil over linking to Amazon yesterday led to some really interesting debate, and a few suggested alternatives. These conversations both reminded me just how brilliant real live booksellers are, and reassured me that I’m far from the only author having issues with getting their books stocked. One suggested alternative to linking to Amazon is linking to the Hive Network. The Hive is run by book distributor Gardner’s, and is an online bookstore in much the …

Posted in Books, Personal | 4 Comments

The Truth About Amazon

amazon

Right, here goes. This is something I’ve been thinking about posting for a while, but I’ve always decided against it for one reason or another. Following some recent conversations with other authors, though, I’ve decided to go ahead and post it. As you probably know, what with being here on my website, I’m an author. My six Invisible Fiends books and two Afterworlds books have received rave reviews and even won awards. I get regular feedback from parents and teachers …

Posted in Books, Personal | Tagged , | 20 Comments

The Book of Doom Competition Winners

compadsmall

Back in January I launched a competition to celebrate the upcoming release of The Book of Doom, which gave one lucky winner the chance to get their hands on a Kindle Fire 8GB and a copy of the book. The Book of Doom (my one) there is another book by the same name. This Book of Doom (the fictional one, not my one) can take on any form, and no two people see it as the same thing. It may be …

Posted in Competitions | 4 Comments

The Terry Pratchett Comparison

Terry Pratchett's Moving Pictures

Several reviewers have compared my books to those of Terry Pratchett. Find out what I think of that and why…

Posted in On the web, Personal, Recommended Reads | 6 Comments

Blog Swap: Bart’s Bookshelf

kate

It’s time for another Blog Swap, despite the fact none of us are any the wiser yet as to what the purpose of a Blog Swap actually is. It’s a larf though, innit? Today I’m swapping blogs with Darren from Bart’s Bookshelf. You can find my post for him here. Over to you, Darren… Kate de Vries So, a week or two back I was asked If I’d like to take part in Barry’s blog-swap thingamajig, and of course I …

Posted in Recommended Reads | Tagged | Leave a comment

Iain Banks

Iain Banks

It was with real sadness that I reads reports of Iain Banks’ terminal cancer today. For those of you who haven’t heard the news, here’s his personal announcement on his website. I’ve met Iain a couple of times, but I don’t know him as such. I know some people who do know him, though, and through them I’d heard that he had been ill recently, but I had no idea – nor did he, it seems – that things were …

Posted in Personal | 4 Comments

Back My Book Theme Author: Website Themes for Writers © 2014