bookofdoom

The Book of Doom

The second hilarious book in Barry’s AFTERWORLDS sequence – comic fantasy perfect for fans of Pratchett and Douglas Adams. There’s panic up in Heaven. They have mislaid the BOOK OF DOOM – the most important object in existence. Oopsy. They think Satan might have stolen it, the sneaky...

BarryHutchison.com

Book Advent Calendar – Day 7

Welcome back to part 7 of my countdown to Christmas, in which I’ll be revealing 24 books that I’ve either really enjoyed reading recently, or which had a big impact on me when I first read them.

The book that’s behind door 7 is one that I read about a decade ago – well after its 1996 publication. It’s a graphic novel from DC comics and is, in my opinion, one of the all time greats. Roll over door number 7 to see what’s behind it.

Book Advent Calendar Day 7

KINGDOM COME by Mark Waid and Alex Ross is a superhero story with a difference. Set years in the future when the current DC superheroes have been replaced by countless power-crazed wannabes, it tells the story of the original Justice League coming out of retirement to try to restore order. In doing so, however, they put the whole world at risk, and Mark Waid poses some interesting questions about taking responsibility for our own actions, and learning to solve our problems without outside assistance.

And it’s got Batman robots in it. Can’t forget that.

Read more about the book over at The Hive – an online bookshop made up of a network on independent booksellers.

Opt In Image
GET EMAIL UPDATES
It's like stalking - in reverse.

Want to find out about Barry's new books or upcoming events? Want exclusive content and competitions available just to subscribers? Then sign up for the newsletter to get email updates every month from Barry himself.

Liked this? Please share it:
Facebook Twitter Digg Tumblr Pinterest Linkedin Email

This entry was posted in Recommended Reads and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Book Advent Calendar – Day 7

  1. Day 7 in my Book Advent Calendar. What’s behind today’s door? http://t.co/cTnIaIHw

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>

Back My Book Theme Author: Website Themes for Writers © 2014