bookofdoom

The Book of Doom

The second hilarious book in Barry’s AFTERWORLDS sequence – comic fantasy perfect for fans of Pratchett and Douglas Adams. There’s panic up in Heaven. They have mislaid the BOOK OF DOOM – the most important object in existence. Oopsy. They think Satan might have stolen it, the sneaky...

BarryHutchison.com

The Royal Mail Awards 2010

This morning, the shortlist for the Royal Mail Award for Scottish Children’s Books was announced at the HQ of the Scottish Book Trust in Edinburgh. I was lucky enough to be invited along to the announcement because I now live quite close by and, well, because one of my books made the shortlist!

The awards are split into three age categories – 0-7, 8-11 and 12-16. There are three books in each category, and Invisible Fiends: Mr Mumbles has been included in the 8-11 category, alongside The Secret of the Black Moon Moth by John Fardell and The Dragon Whisperer by Lucinda Hare.

Although the awards are for Scottish authors only, in the five years since they started, they have grown to become the biggest children’s book award in the UK, with 30,000 children voting for their favourite books last year. So far this year 22,000 children have registered to vote via their schools and libraries, and with registration open until January 2010, it’s looking like last year’s record number of votes cast may be about to be beaten.

If you want to get involved in the awards and vote for your favourite book, head along to scottishbooktrust.com/royalmailawards where you can find all the information you need.

Good luck to everyone on the shortlist. Here are the full details of who’s on there with what:

Bookbug Readers (0-7 years)

- WHAT THE LADYBIRD HEARD by Julia Donaldson and Lydia Monks (Macmillan)

- LOVE FROM LOUISA by Simon Puttock and Joe Kiddie (Harper Collins)

- STORMY WEATHER by Debi Gliori (Bloomsbury)

Younger Readers (8-11 years)

- THE DRAGON WHISPERER by Lucinda Hare (Random House)

- THE SECRET OF THE BLACK MOON MOTH by John Fardell (Faber)

- INVISIBLE FIENDS – MR MUMBLES by Barry Hutchison (Harper Collins)

Older Readers (12-16 years)

- GRASS by Catherine MacPhail (Bloomsbury)

- CROSSING THE LINE by Gillian Philip (Bloomsbury)

- THE WITCHING HOUR by Elizabeth Laird (MacMillan)

Liked this? Please share it:
Facebook Twitter Digg Tumblr Pinterest Linkedin Email

This entry was posted in Books. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The Royal Mail Awards 2010

  1. Matt Meadows says:

    Congratulations on the nomination.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>

Back My Book Theme Author: Website Themes for Writers © 2014